Weaveworld - Netflix

The CW is developing Weaveworld, a drama series based on the horror/fantasy novel by Clive Barker. The show gives a contemporary makeover to the premise of the novel, which was published in 1987. In the TV adaptation, an app designer teams up with a young pastry chef who has just discovered that she is destined to be guardian of a mythological realm that can be accessed through a portal in an old Savannah mansion. Together, they fight an epic battle with evil forces who are vying for control of the magical world.

Weaveworld - Netflix

Type: Scripted

Languages: English

Status: In Development

Runtime: 60 minutes

Premier: None

Weaveworld - Books of Blood - Netflix

Books of Blood are a series of horror fiction collections written by the British author Clive Barker. There are six books in total, each simply subtitled Volume 1 through to Volume 6, and were subsequently re-published in two omnibus editions containing three volumes each. Each volume contains four or five stories. The volume 1–3 omnibus was published with a foreword by Barker's fellow Liverpudlian horror writer Ramsey Campbell. They were published between 1984 and 1985. With the publication of the first volume, Barker became an overnight sensation and was hailed by Stephen King as “the future of horror”. The book won both the British and World Fantasy Awards. Although undoubtedly horror stories, like most of Barker's work they mix fantasy themes in as well. The unrelentingly bleak tales invariably take place in a contemporary setting, usually featuring everyday people who become embroiled in terrifying or mysterious events. Barker has stated in Faces of Fear that an inspiration for the Books of Blood was when he read Dark Forces in the early 1980s and realised that a horror story collection need not have any narrow themes, consistent tone or restrictions. The stories could range from the humorous to the truly horrific. For some editions, each book's cover was illustrated by Clive Barker himself. Eighteen of the stories in the Books of Blood were adapted by Eclipse Books in the comic series Tapping the Vein as well as other titled adaptations. Several of the stories have been adapted into films, “Rawhead Rex” (1986); “The Forbidden” (filmed in 1992 as Candyman); “The Last Illusion” (filmed in 1995 as Lord of Illusions); “The Body Politic” (filmed in 1997 as Quicksilver Highway); “The Midnight Meat Train” (2008); “The Book of Blood” and “On Jerusalem Street (a postscript)” (combined and filmed in 2008 as Book of Blood), and “Dread” (2009). “The Yattering and Jack” was adapted by Barker himself in 1986 for the US series Tales from the Darkside.

Weaveworld - In The Flesh - Netflix

A career criminal named Cleve has a new cellmate, a mysterious young man called Tait who admits that he committed a crime with the sole intention of coming to this particular prison. Tait believes he has been summoned there by his grandfather, a supposedly powerful sorcerer, who was buried in the jail having been executed for murder years before. Tait's efforts to summon his grandfather's spirit cause Cleve to be haunted by dreams in which he travels to a form of purgatory for murderers, where killers are obliged to spend some portion of their after life in a replica of the scene of their crime. In the end, Tait vanishes from his cell. His grandfather's coffin is exhumed and found to contain Tait curled up next to his dead grandfather. Once released, Cleve finds that his travels to the murderer's purgatory have left him with the ability to hear other people's thoughts, as long as they revolve around killing people. He becomes disillusioned with humanity and becomes a heroin addict to suppress his newfound powers. Cleve later commits a murder himself to feed his habit, and is shot dead by the police. He spends an indeterminate amount of time in his own murderer's purgatory, before discovering that individuals can escape via reincarnation.

Weaveworld - References - Netflix