Scrabble - Netflix

Scrabble has been enjoyed by millions worldwide and now it's making its way on to our television screens!

Taking the classic board game format that everyone knows and loves and putting a clever twist to it will keep Scrabble lovers happy and bring a new audience to the game.

A famous host and two teams, consisting of a celebrity captain and a member of the public, will battle it out against each other to build the best words they can on the board to score as high as possible, whilst also trying to hit special tiles which lets them play bonus games to rack up even more points.

The winning team go on to play a tense end game where they could win a big cash prize for their member of the public!

Filming will take place on Tuesday 9th February 2016 at The ITV London Studios.

Scrabble - Netflix

Type: Game Show

Languages: English

Status: In Development

Runtime: None minutes

Premier: None

Scrabble - Francophone Scrabble - Netflix

Francophone Scrabble, or French-language Scrabble, is played by many thousands of amateurs throughout the World and the Fédération internationale de Scrabble francophone has more than 20,000 members. Just as in English, points are scored by playing valid words from the lettered tiles. In French there are 102 tiles - 100 lettered tiles and two blanks known as jokers. The official word list for Francophone Scrabble is L'Officiel du jeu Scrabble.

Scrabble - Notable players - Netflix

Belgian national championship: Christian Pierre Belgium (14 wins) Swiss national championship: Véronique Keim Switzerland (5 wins) Tunisian national championship: Abderrazak Ouarda Tunisia (14 wins) Quebec national championship: Germain Boulianne (8 wins) At least five competitors from the Francophone championship have competed in the English language World Scrabble Championship; Antonin Michel, Hervé Bohbot, Dan Laurentiu Sandu, Robert Springer, and Nigel Richards.

Seven players have won the individual duplicate world title more than once: Marc Selis Belgium (1974, 1976) Benjamin Hannuna France (1979, 1984) Michel Duguet France (1982, 1983, 1985, 1987, 1988) Christian Pierre Belgium (1991, 1992, 1994, 1996, 1998) Emmanuel Rivalan France (1993, 1999) Jean-Pierre Hellebaut Switzerland (2002, 2003) Antonin Michel France (2005, 2007) The records for the most wins at the following championships are Blitz world championship: Antonin Michel France (4 wins) Pairs world championship: Michel Duguet France (5 wins) French national championship French duplicate championship: Michel Duguet France (6 wins) French matchplay championship: Pierre Olivier-Georget France (3 wins) French duplicate blitz championship: Antonin Michel France (5 wins) French duplicate pairs championship: Jean-François Lachaud France (5 wins)

Scrabble - References - Netflix