Red Bull: Air Race - Netflix

Ten years since it was officially launched, the Red Bull Air Race World Championship has become globally-renowned as the new dimension of motorsport. Using the fastest, most agile, lightweight racing planes, the best race pilots in the world hit speeds of 230 mph while enduring forces of up to 10G as they navigate a low-level slalom track marked by 25-meter-high, air-filled pylons. The international competition spans eight races in seven different countries, including a pair of stops in the United States. The first is on April 16 in San Diego, followed by the season finale at Indianapolis Motor Speedway on October 15, giving race pilots Kirby Chambliss and Mike Goulian two opportunities to shine in their home nation.

NBC, NBCSN, and the NBC Sports app will combine to present coverage of all eight events during the 2017 Red Bull Air Race season, beginning with this year's event in Abu Dhabi on February 10.

Red Bull: Air Race - Netflix

Type: Sports

Languages: English

Status: Running

Runtime: 120 minutes

Premier: 2007-11-27

Red Bull: Air Race - List of Red Bull Air Race World Championship winners - Netflix

The Red Bull Air Race World Championship (formerly known as the Red Bull Air Race), established in 2003 and created by Red Bull GmbH, is an international series of air races in which entrants compete to navigate a challenging obstacle course in the fastest time. Pilots fly individually against the clock and are required to complete tight turns through a slalom course consisting of inflatable pylons, known as “Air Gates”. The races are held mainly over water near cities, but are also held at airfields or natural wonders (such as Sugarloaf Mountain and Monument Valley). Races are usually flown on weekends with the first day for qualification then knockout finals the day after. The events attract large crowds and are broadcast, both live and in highlights, in many nations. At each venue, the top ten places earn World Championship points. The air racer with the most points at the end of the Championship becomes Red Bull Air Race World Champion. After a three-year hiatus from 2011 for safety improvements and reorganisation, the Air Race resumed in 2014. The inaugural series comprising two races was won by the Hungarian pilot Péter Besenyei who went on to secure second place the following three series. As of 2017, the most successful pilot in the history of the championship is Briton Paul Bonhomme who has won the title on three occasions, in 2009, 2010 and 2015. British and American pilots are the most successful, with four titles for each nationality.

Red Bull: Air Race - Winners and runners-up - Netflix

Red Bull: Air Race - References - Netflix