MTV Europe Music Awards - Netflix

The MTV Europe Music Awards ("EMAs" or "EMA") are an event presented by MTV Networks Europe which awards prizes to musicians and performers, voted by viewers.

MTV Europe Music Awards - Netflix

Type: Award Show

Languages: English

Status: Running

Runtime: 120 minutes

Premier: 1994-11-24

MTV Europe Music Awards - MTV Europe Music Award - Netflix

An MTV Europe Music Award (commonly abbreviated as a EMAs) is an award presented by Viacom International Media Networks to honour artists and music in pop culture. It was originally conceived as an alternative to the MTV Video Music Awards, which are hosted annually in the United States. The Europe Music Awards are held every year in a different country; it has been hosted mostly in the United Kingdom. The annual presentation ceremony features performances by prominent artists, and the presentation of those awards that have a more popular interest. The awards are a reflection of the international and continental music scene. They are representative of geographical origin and of achievement in diverse musical genres and disciplines, indicative of the diversity and scope of the accolade. Awards are amended, repealed and conceived to reflect the change of the music scene and its integral participation in social, cultural and economic circles. Since the 2007 ceremony, viewers are able to vote for their favourite artists in all general categories by visiting MTV's website. The 1st Europe Music Awards ceremony was held in 1994 at Brandenburg Gate in Berlin, Germany, five years after the fall of the Berlin Wall. The annual ceremony broadcast live on MTV Europe, Channel 5 and most of the international MTV channels as well as online.

MTV Europe Music Awards - 2005–2009 - Netflix

2006: The 13th Europe Music Awards was hosted by Justin Timberlake, who received Best Male and Best Pop. Timberlake joked that he only won because he agreed to present the event in Copenhagen. Depeche Mode said, “A big thank you to the fans and a big thank you to MTV for playing our videos for twenty-five years”, after winning the award for Best Group. British comedian Sacha Baron Cohen entertained the audience with his English-mangling character Borat and poked fun at Madonna who was at the time trying to adopt an African child adding: “My only concern is that this singing transvestite will not be such a good father.” Despite winning the award for Best Hip-Hop, Kanye West apparently was so disappointed at not winning for Best Video that he crashed the stage when the award was being presented to Justice and Simian for “We Are Your Friends”. In a tirade riddled with expletives, Kanye West said he should have won the prize for his video “Touch the Sky”, because it “cost a million dollars, Pamela Anderson was in it. I was jumping across canyons.” He further said, “If I don't win, the awards show loses credibility”. 2007: Foo Fighters opened the show and front man Dave Grohl hosted the backstage area, interviewing celebrities live on air. Other performances on the night came from Amy Winehouse, Foo Fighters, Babyshambles, My Chemical Romance, Avril Lavigne, and Mika. paired up with Nicole Scherzinger from the Pussycat Dolls to perform their duet “Baby Love”. Pete Doherty surprised his critics by being on great form for the whole show in preparation for his performance with Babyshambles. The show received a total of 78 million votes, the most in Europe Music Awards history. 2008: Rick Astley was named Best Act Ever after an online campaign to orchestrate votes. Britney Spears was the big winner of the night winning Best Album and Best Act. She did not attend the show but recorded a couple videos thanking her fans. Paul McCartney was awarded with the Ultimate Legend given by Bono. After picking up his honour, Sir Paul settled for thanking friends, family and bandmates Ringo Starr, George Harrison and John Lennon. “Many years ago, four little boys were born here in Liverpool and we went on to do quite well,” he added. “So thanks, as I say, to all my family, to all of you for coming along, everyone in Liverpool, everyone in Britain, everyone in America — for voting in Mr Obama. I love you!” The show contained numerous references to Barack Obama, most notably when Kanye West and Estelle finished their song “American Boy” with the US President-elect's face projected onto a giant screen behind them. Jared Leto, Shannon Leto and Tomo Miličević from Thirty Seconds to Mars wore Obama T-shirts, and Jared Leto also asked the crowd to stand in honour of the Democratic senator. Amid cheers, he said: “Liverpool, lets hear it for Barack Obama.” Host Katy Perry remarked, “Maybe Europe will love us again now.”

2005 : Madonna opened the show in a giant disco ball performing “Hung Up”. Sacha Baron Cohen hosted the ceremony as Borat Sagdiyev, who greeted the audience by saying “Welcome to the 2005 Eurovision Song Contest” and referring to Madonna, he stated, “It was very courageous of MTV to start the show with a genuine transvestite”. Gorillaz used hologram-style technology to beam three-dimensional performing cartoon characters on stage. Madonna returned to the stage to present the Free Your Mind Award to Bob Geldof. “You drive me crazy, but tonight you are everyone's hero,” she said. He replied: “This means much more to me than many of the other things that are given to me”.

2009: Returning for the second time as host, Katy Perry opened the show and performed a medley of the nominees for Best Song. The Jonas Brothers introduced a tribute to Michael Jackson performed by Michael's fans in front of the Brandenburg Gate in Berlin. U2 and Jay-Z performed “Sunday Bloody Sunday” in front of the Brandenburg Gate with Jay-Z freestyling over the performance and rapped in the lyrics from Bob Marley's “Get Up, Stand Up”. Beyoncé won three awards, the most awards that night. Pete Wentz was the host for the show webcast.

MTV Europe Music Awards - References - Netflix