Marshall Law - Netflix

Set against the backdrop of Melbourne Magistrates' Court, Marshall Law stars Lisa McCune and Alison Whye as two young lawyers, the Marshall sisters. Ros is a junior crown prosecutor with an appetite for love and life while Verity is beginning to make her mark at the fiercely competitive Bar.

Type: Scripted

Languages: English

Status: Ended

Runtime: 60 minutes

Premier: 2002-08-13

Marshall Law - Thurgood Marshall - Netflix

Thurgood Marshall (July 2, 1908 – January 24, 1993) was an American lawyer, serving as Associate Justice of the Supreme Court of the United States from October 1967 until October 1991. Marshall was the Court's 96th justice and its first African-American justice. Prior to his judicial service, he successfully argued several cases before the Supreme Court. Born in Baltimore, Maryland, Marshall graduated from the Howard University School of Law in 1933. He established a private legal practice in Baltimore before founding the NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund, where he served as executive director. In that position, he argued several cases before the Supreme Court, including Smith v. Allwright, Shelley v. Kraemer, and Brown v. Board of Education, which held that racial segregation in public education is a violation of the Equal Protection Clause. In 1961, President John F. Kennedy appointed Marshall to United States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit. Four years later, President Lyndon B. Johnson appointed Marshall as the United States Solicitor General. In 1967, Johnson successfully nominated Marshall to succeed retiring Associate Justice Tom C. Clark. Marshall retired during the administration of President George H. W. Bush, and was succeeded by Clarence Thomas.

Marshall Law - Timeline - Netflix

1908 – Born July 2 at Baltimore, Maryland, United States. 1930 – Graduates cum laude from Lincoln University (Pennsylvania). 1934 – Receives law degree from Howard University (magna cum laude) and begins private practice in Baltimore, Maryland. 1934 – Begins to work for Baltimore branch of NAACP. 1935 – Working with Charles Houston, wins first major civil rights case, Murray v. Pearson. 1936 – Becomes assistant special counsel for NAACP in New York. 1940 – Wins Chambers v. Florida, the first of twenty-nine Supreme Court victories. 1943 – Won case for integration of schools in Hillburn, New York. 1944 – Successfully argues Smith v. Allwright, overthrowing the South's “white primary”. 1946 – Awarded Spingarn Medal from the NAACP. 1948 – Wins Shelley v. Kraemer, in which Supreme Court strikes down legality of racially restrictive covenants. 1950 – Wins Supreme Court victories in two graduate-school integration cases, Sweatt v. Painter and McLaurin v. Oklahoma State Regents. 1951 – Visits South Korea and Japan to investigate charges of racism in U.S. armed forces. He reported that the general practice was one of “rigid segregation.” 1952 – Unsuccessfully defends Walter Irvin in the Groveland Case retrial. 1954 – Wins Brown v. Board of Education of Topeka, landmark case that demolishes legal basis for segregation in America. 1956 – Wins Browder v. Gayle, ending the practice of segregation on buses and ending the Montgomery Bus Boycott. 1957 – Founds and becomes the first president-director counsel of the NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund, Inc., a nonprofit law firm separate and independent of the NAACP 1961 – Defends civil rights demonstrators, winning Supreme Court victory in Garner v. Louisiana; nominated to Second Circuit Court of Appeals by President John F. Kennedy. 1961 – Appointed circuit judge, makes 112 rulings, none of them reversed on certiorari by Supreme Court (1961–1965). 1965 – Appointed United States Solicitor General by President Lyndon B. Johnson; wins 14 of the 19 cases he argues for the government (1965–1967). 1967 – Becomes first African American named to U.S. Supreme Court (1967–1991). 1991 – Retires from the Supreme Court. 1991 – Received the Freedom medal 1992 – Receives the U.S. Senator John Heinz Award for Greatest Public Service by an Elected or Appointed Official, an annual award by Jefferson Awards. 1992 – Receives the Liberty Medal recognizing his long history of protecting individual rights under the Constitution. 1993 – Dies at age 84 in Bethesda, Maryland, near Washington, D.C. 1993 – Receives Presidential Medal of Freedom, posthumously, from President Bill Clinton.

Marshall Law - References - Netflix