FIA World Rally Championships Preview - Netflix

A guide to the upcoming World Rally Championship events.

FIA World Rally Championships Preview - Netflix

Type: Sports

Languages: English

Status: Running

Runtime: 40 minutes

Premier: 2016-01-16

FIA World Rally Championships Preview - 2018 World Rally Championship - Netflix

The 2018 FIA World Rally Championship is the 46th season of the World Rally Championship, an auto racing championship recognised by the Fédération Internationale de l'Automobile (FIA) as the highest class of international rallying. Teams and crews are competing in thirteen events—starting with the Monte Carlo Rally in January and finishing with Rally Australia in November—for the World Rally Championships for Drivers, Co-drivers and Manufacturers. Crews are free to compete in cars complying with World Rally Car and Group R regulations; however, only Manufacturers competing with 2017-specification World Rally Cars are eligible to score points in the Manufacturers' championship. The series is once again supported by the World Rally Championship-2 and World Rally Championship-3 categories at every round and by the Junior World Rally Championship at selected rounds. Sébastien Ogier and Julien Ingrassia started the season as the defending drivers' and co-drivers' champions after securing their fifth consecutive World Championship titles at the 2017 Wales Rally GB. M-Sport, the team they drove for in 2017, are the defending manufacturers' champions. After seven rounds, Thierry Neuville and Nicolas Gilsoul lead the drivers' and co-drivers' championships by twenty-seven points ahead of Ogier and Ingrassia. Ott Tänak and Martin Järveoja are third, a further forty-five points behind. In the manufacturers' championship, Hyundai Shell Mobis WRT hold a twenty-eight-point lead over M-Sport Ford WRT.

FIA World Rally Championships Preview - Scoring system - Netflix

Points are awarded to the top ten classified finishers. In the manufacturers' championship, teams are eligible to nominate three crews to score points, but these points are only awarded to the top two classified finishers representing a manufacturer and driving a 2017-specification World Rally Car. There are also five bonus points awarded to the winners of the Power Stage, four points for second place, three for third, two for fourth and one for fifth. Power Stage points are only awarded in the drivers' and co-drivers' championships.

FIA World Rally Championships Preview - References - Netflix